Photo

World's First Franken-Comm Of It's Kind?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Kyp Durron

Kyp Durron

Rick & Pat know me by name.

• Members
  • 343 posts
  • Interests:ST props, models, and Lightsabers OH MY!

Posted 20 February 2014 - 07:42 AM

Maybe.  :P

This comm uses parts from the MR, STTE, AND DST comms.  :lol:

Main (Top?) shell is from the STTE comm, as is the mid plate, moire ring, and antenna lid. The battery cover and clear moire disk is from a DST. Now for the heart of the comm, that's right, the battery holder, motor w/moire disk AND SOUND BOARD, ALL MR, baby.  B) It also uses the MR control knobs and control plate as well. 

How did this comm come to be, you ask? Well, it was a combination of things. First, I had an extra STTE comm that was mostly intact, but I was going to put the DST sound board in there. But that looked like too much of a PITA (The connection points on the board were different, and I'm no electronics expert), so it was put on the back burner. 

Then on day as I was browsing Ebay, lo and behold, a seller was selling this : 

MRCommParts_zpsc6aa5e46.jpg

$85 was well worth it to me as something like this doesn't come up often on Ebay.

But I needed a back battery cover, since the STTE one would have that starfleet delta pattern cut out that would look awful (I didn't have a STTE delta shaped hail button) with no button underneath. Then I looked at the battery cover for the DST and noticed that even the hair cell pattern was identical to the STTE top shell, so I went with that.

I should mention that those MR parts also included the oval shaped hail button, so I could try and cut out a hole for it in the DST bottom shell, I'll try that at some point if/when I feel like it.

Now for the pics and video of it in action : 

PICT0511_zps48a6a7d6.jpg

PICT0513_zps69ae0946.jpg

PICT0515_zpsb603016e.jpg

PICT0516_zps71f27c7a.jpg

And last but not least, a short video of the comm in action :